Is there a point getting a "high" first class degree? Watch

DH.
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I go to a good university in the UK and study mathematics. In my first year, I worked hard and maintained an average of 90%+. I'm now in my second year and I'm in exam session; I'm wondering is there really a point of getting above 70% seeing as you come out with the same grade as someone who got 90%? Would that extra study time be better used on developing over skills such as programming or perhaps even a part time job?
chazwomaq
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
Why are you at university if you don't want to be good as you can be at the subject you have paid to learn?
Adil J
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
lmao a first class is a first class but i'm guessing you'd get preference over someone with 70% if you had 90%... considering all the other factors are similar...but i doubt it really comes to that unless your going for big companies lol
Adil J
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by chazwomaq)
Why are you at university if you don't want to be good as you can be at the subject you have paid to learn?
hahah loool
the bear
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
a gold medal athlete does not say "**** it i am going to win this stupid race so why should i be arsed to try and beat my personal best ?"...
snakesnake
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
(Original post by DH.)
I go to a good university in the UK and study mathematics. In my first year, I worked hard and maintained an average of 90%+. I'm now in my second year and I'm in exam session; I'm wondering is there really a point of getting above 70% seeing as you come out with the same grade as someone who got 90%? Would that extra study time be better used on developing over skills such as programming or perhaps even a part time job?