Turn on thread page Beta

Can someone explain the application process to a gap year student? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi all,

So I finished school back in Summer 2014 and I am on a gap year.
    I took a gap year as I wasn't entirely sure which uni I'd like to attend (nor what I would study) but I have now come to a decision to apply to US colleges.

However, since it is already May, is it too late to start prepping for SATs and such?

I saw that for most colleges the deadline for ED is the 2nd of Nov - if that's the case, when would be the best time for me to take the SATs? Keeping in mind I will also be taking two SAT II Subject tests alongside SAT I.

And this may sound ridiculously ignorant, but when do US colleges commence? If I apply in November 2015, will I be starting college from sometime around March 2016 or September like the UK?

Oh and since I am a gap year student, what reports do I submit in place of the 'mid year reports'? the full report?

I have no clue about the admissions process, and the lack of information on college websites are really confusing me I would appreciate any help!

thank you!

ReputationRep: