Turn on thread page Beta

ICL rather than Oxford just because of the language requirement? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hi everybody,

I'm a french student and I will be studying in the UK next year for a MSc in Computer Science. I have been made offers (among others) for both Oxford and Imperial College London.

I already read topics on the web where people tell that basically the levels of the two programs are the same, so I figured I had to make the choice myself based on other criteria. the city of Oxford and the university seem more attractive to me than London so I figured my final choice would be Oxford.

But there is an other side problem. As you may know there is a quite high language requirement for Oxford. They ask for a 110 TOEFL score. I took the TOEFL but I got only 108. That's not bad - and enough for Imperial and all the other universities I applied for. But now if I want to go to Oxford I have to retake it. And to be honest I had quite well prepared for the first time, and after the test I felt as though I had done quite well. So I guess if I want to reach 110 I may have to retake it several times (it costs around 250€ plus almost a whole day each time).

So here is my question. Since I also have the offer from Imperial, does it seem right to you to change my mind and go there just because of this TOEFL thing? That's what I'm planning to do but I have to say the idea of choosing an university rather than an other because of the TOEFL just makes me feel really bad...

And I forgot to mention, I already tried to ask Oxford about the TOEFL since I had heard it was possible to get in with slightly less than 110. But they just said they can't bend the rule since applications are considered individually, etc...

ReputationRep: