FantasticMsFox
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
I'm thinking of becoming a Barrister's Clerk and starting as a junior clerk.

What could I get in terms of salary? I know that they could earn at least £10,000 per annum. I live in London so if I work in Central London then would my salary be higher than in other places?

How many hours a week would I be working?

What would my duties be? I know that junior clerks would be doing general admin but what else would they be doing?

I've been looking for work experience as well to do in the Summer Holidays. How many weeks would it take?

I'm doing A-Levels at the moment.
happyinthehaze
Badges: 11
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by FantasticMsFox)
I'm thinking of becoming a Barrister's Clerk and starting as a junior clerk.

I can try and help you - I am a trainee sol though, so don't know all the answers you need!

What could I get in terms of salary? I know that they could earn at least £10,000 per annum. I live in London so if I work in Central London then would my salary be higher than in other places?

It is likely a bit more in London than other places as salaries are higher here. Google job ads in the law Gazette and see

Ha! I don't know - you need to get you a clerk to ask. I would imagine that clerks are employees of Chambers - you may already know that barristers are self-employed and band together in chambers - they will pay a percentage towards their rent, I guess, and the staff. It is fair to say barristers do work long hours. I would hazard a guess that a clerk is also going to work pretty long hours - they MAY have a system where they work shifts to cover long hours where necessary though - the bar can be quite unpredictable, with work coming in on very short notice - thus the night out you thought you were having is cancelled

What would my duties be? I know that junior clerks would be doing general admin but what else would they be doing?