Turn on thread page Beta

What are the Tories' real plans for the NHS? watch

ReputationRep:
    It goes without saying that talk of altering the NHS is pretty much a social taboo in the UK. Following this election, many seem to think that the NHS will be further privitised under the Tories. It's difficult to get an unbiased prediction on this so that's what I'm hoping for.

What are the Tories' long-term plans for the health service? And what is so bad about alternative health services like Germany's? Shouldn't there be an open dialogue with the public about what options government has in mind for reforming the NHS to provide a more efficient service for patients?

ReputationRep:
    I'm a third year med student in Scotland, and I for one would welcome some form of privatisation in the NHS. Our NHS is fully governed by Hollyrood and the current format just isn't working. There has been no increase in funding, no new clinical staff or nurses, yet every week there are new executives and area site coordinators (which btw I have no idea what they do). 100 private beds in a 3000 bed hospital would have an effect on admission and would provide additional funds for more nurses and more research as current research grants are funded by change down the back of the sofa

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Bioboy91)
    I'm a third year med student in Scotland, and I for one would welcome some form of privatisation in the NHS. Our NHS is fully governed by Hollyrood and the current format just isn't working. There has been no increase in funding, no new clinical staff or nurses, yet every week there are new executives and area site coordinators (which btw I have no idea what they do). 100 private beds in a 3000 bed hospital would have an effect on admission and would provide additional funds for more nurses and more research as current research grants are funded by change down the back of the sofa