Trip to Prague, any general advice

Watch
annarchy.
Badges: 13
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
So me and my boyfriend have planned a trip to prague (1-5 june) will be my first time on an aeroplane so pretty excited about that.

Just wondering - anyone who has been to Prague, any advice about when you're there? Things to do, Things to watch out for, things to avoid, general comments etc
I'm a travelling beginner as such an have never been on a city break before so whatever is said will be helpful

Thanks
Topdeck Travel
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
Hi there!

Prague is amazing, you will love it! It is one of those cities that has wonderfully held on to its history. You feel like you are walking the streets of medieval Europe!

First thing is first? Have you booked your accommodation yet? Prague is bet explored on foot (there is nothing you can't get to within an hours walk through the Old Town (Staré město) or even the New Town (Nové město) for that matter. Note, that the New Town is actually not new, but was founded in the 14th century when the city expanded, it is where the city's biggest attraction is - Prague Castle (Hradčany). Anyway, try to stay in the Old Town - even if it costs more, it will be worth it not spending the money on taxis or transport. Prague is safe (and very beautiful) to walk around, so stay central. If hostel is your thing, there are many great, cheap hostels dotted around the old town. I would use Wencesles Square as good point of reference, if you are near here, you are not smack bang in the middle of the Old Town (meaning higher prices) but close enough to walk to it (barely a 10 minute walk). Wenceslas Square is the main transport hub of the city, making to and from train stations and the airport much easier.

What to do? The list is endless. I would recommend at least the following in this post.