Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi everyone,
    I’m a year 12 student who wants to study “Theoretical Physics” at University.
    1 ) The problem is that I can’t decide which university to chose. So I made this : [pdf] , those are all the university I would like to apply to. (Oxbridge are not included). Which of them are the best for academia, industry ?
    2) I also don’t know if “Theoretical Physics” is better than “Mathematics and Physics” course for further study. Because of this (old) thread mainly : [http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/show...367175&page=3] look at barnisaurusrex's posts
    3) At the end of a Msci in Theoretical Physics, can you switch to a Mathematics Msc ?

Thank you !!
    PS: Sorry for grammatical mistakes, I’m french.
    Attached Images
  1. File Type: pdf Theoretical physics - Feuille 1 (1).pdf (37.2 KB, 127 views)

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

well, I'm an international student, too, but I will join a British University for my Master's degree in theoretical particle physics this year.

Just to be curious, why did you not include Oxford in your list, but Cambridge?

My tips:
    - apply to as many universities as possible, so if you can't decide for one specific university yet that's fine, your decision will also depend on which universities accept you and which... don't.
    - it also depends on the university how the course is called, so you can't say whether there's a big difference between "Physics and Maths" and "Theo. Physics". Look at the courses that they offer!

Particle007

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I've almost finished an undergraduate Masters in Theoretical Physics.Hopefully I can help you out.