Join TSR now and get answers to all your questions about uniSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Im just finishing up my first year of electronics and i have hated pretty much all of it. The only reason i did it is because i had no idea what i wanted to do and i still dont (partly pressure from my parents too).
    I now feel i have wasted a whole year of my life and the only thing it has made me realise is that i am not going to get a job in electronics if i finish the 3 years.
    I have zero work experience which means i wont rly be able to get a job with the economy and all and as for ucas points i only have just over 200.

What do i do!?
    do i quit or not, i am so confused!

ReputationRep:
    No, you dont quit. A degree is a degree at the end of the day, and you will just feel worse if you quit. Remember alot of jobs require a degree but not in any specific field.

Me personally, I had the same feelings when I was at college studying hospitality for 2 years, the second year I quit for 6 months - It wasnt what I wanted to do, I just wanted to work. But eventually I went back and completed the last 6 months to get the qualification.

The reason I tell you this is that 3 years later, after working for all this time, I have decided to go to university at 21. This would not have been possible if I had just left my earlier course and not thought about my future - I am one of the lucky ones.

What im saying is that a degree is a degree, irrelevant of what it is in, and will open up 1000's of doors for you that would be closed had you quit.

I - like you, dont know what I want to do in life, but I chose to study Business at Uni as it is quite a broad subject and has alot of transferable skills. Consider changing your course and applying for something with a broader horizon of opportunities at the end. That way, you are supporting the fact that you dont know what you want to do, by having a qualification that is very likely to support whatever it is you decide to do.