Join TSR now and get all your revision questions answeredSign up now

ReputationRep:
    Hi guys,

So I'm currently studying AS Government and Politics and I'm really struggling to get more than 25 on those big 40 mark questions.
    The Unit 2 exam is on the 4th of June and I'd really like to get a handle on those questions by then.
    Any suggested formats/structures to the essays?

Thanks!

ReputationRep:
    My teacher always tells us to follow a structure of:
    Very short/brief introduction with main points but not extremely long as it wastes time.
    At least 4 or 5 arguments for/supporting the question e.g To what extent have constitutional reforms since 1997 made the UK more democratic, 4 ways in which it has
    At least 3 or 4 arguments against
    Elaborated conclusion

(He also says that if you include counter points to each or most of the points you will probably get more marks, e.g One constitutional reform that has made the UK more democratic is the House of Lords reform act 1999...... Then at the end of the paragraph add a very brief counter point such as: But, the House of Lords Act remains incomplete and because no peers are elected it remains undemocratic.)
    The counter points shouldn't be long as the arguments in the main body of the essay will be the ones that are fully elaborated, but they should just give a brief, specific 'opposing' view.

Hope this helps

ReputationRep:
    Hi! I sat this exam last year and i'm retaking. I got 158 UMS in it, so i'm retaking to get a high A (I already have an A in AS politics).

In my exam for the 40 marker I remember I did 5 paragraphs (main content). I think the question was on the way parliament has accountability. I did 3 for and 2 against.

The best lay out in my opinion is 3 for and 3 against, small intro defining key words and a conclusion to express judgement.