Join TSR now for chat about life, relationships, fashion and more…Sign up now

I think I had a panic attack today Watch

I got to work and was just feeling generally unwell. (I'm a teacher.) I get in quite early and was just organizing myself in the peace and quiet. And then I don't know what happened... I started having palpitations, shaking and I couldn't catch my breath. I felt like I wasn't myself, like I was about to faint or like my heart would just swell and give up. I forced myself into my classroom and somehow carried on, but have felt lousy for the rest of the day.

I'm very happy in my job, but a few other stresses in life atm. Thing is, I'm terrified that this is going to become 'a thing' ... that it'll happen again and I'll be stuck with anxiety or be somebody that suffers panic attacks. I don't know whether this is worthy of going to the doctors? Will it happen again? Can they just happen out of the blue like that? Are they always brought on by stress?

ReputationRep:
    I really feel for you because I am also a teacher in secondary education and know all to well what you are going through.

In my training year due to stress outside of my job I had a panic attack in front of a class and although I hid it well at the time, it became a real sticking point because I then developed a fear of it occurring again and worried what the children would think. It became a vicious circle, so much so that I considered leaving the profession.

Teaching is an extremely high pressured job and at times that can get too much, especially around exam time which we are currently going through. Don't be too hard on yourself, many people suffer with anxiety. When I had my panic attack last year I turned to internet forums to seek advice and I was so relieved and comforted when people came forward to say they had been through the same thing.