Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi,

About 3 weeks back my laptop crashed, the hard drive failed and I lost everything. took it to a shop and they had a look and told me they could perform data recovery and replace the hard drive for £200... i had no choice so went ahead with it. they phoned a week later and said they couldnt recover the data and would have to clone the hard drive... 'this is where things start to get exspensive' he said.

£550 for hard drive replacement and recovered files. it took two weeks in total... As a student I obviously coudnt afford it and my dad paid for it instead of paying his mortgage for that month. I've explained all to my tutor but he said computer crashes don't count for an extension... I was without my laptop for two weeks and pretty much couldnt do anything. now I'm going to fail because I can't get a small extension... my dad paid £550 for me to fail lol.

Is there anything i can do? I phoned the uni help line and they said speak to your tutor first, if that fails speak to the union... this isn't fair. I'm a top student, if i can get an extension it will be a solid A, the module is 50% of my grade...

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by theonelink)
    Hi,

About 3 weeks back my laptop crashed, the hard drive failed and I lost everything. took it to a shop and they had a look and told me they could perform data recovery and replace the hard drive for £200... i had no choice so went ahead with it. they phoned a week later and said they couldnt recover the data and would have to clone the hard drive... 'this is where things start to get exspensive' he said.