Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I'm a graduate with a 1st degree in English Literature. I've always been passionate about education and have some experience with private tutoring. I'm seriously considering doing a Postgrad Education degree because I love it so much.

The only thing is the the numeracy skill test. I have a learning disability called Dyscalculia which means I have very low numeracy. I can't do mental maths. It's pretty embarrassing but it's my life. I have looked at mock skill tests online and I know that even if I had extra time on the test I would fail.

I know that to be a teacher you need to know how to calculate grades, etc. But I've seen my friend do this and she just does it with a spreadsheet and calculator. I can do that! But I can't do the mental maths!

I would fail the entry test. I feel so disheartened. I would make an great teacher, I know it. All I want to do is teach English but I'm held back by my stupid brain.

Are there any alternative paths I can take?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by missface)
    I'm a graduate with a 1st degree in English Literature. I've always been passionate about education and have some experience with private tutoring. I'm seriously considering doing a Postgrad Education degree because I love it so much.

The only thing is the the numeracy skill test. I have a learning disability called Dyscalculia which means I have very low numeracy. I can't do mental maths. It's pretty embarrassing but it's my life. I have looked at mock skill tests online and I know that even if I had extra time on the test I would fail.

I know that to be a teacher you need to know how to calculate grades, etc. But I've seen my friend do this and she just does it with a spreadsheet and calculator. I can do that! But I can't do the mental maths!

I would fail the entry test. I feel so disheartened. I would make an great teacher, I know it. All I want to do is teach English but I'm held back by my stupid brain.