Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I am sitting my AQA AS English Literature exam in two days, Friday 15th May. I understand the texts I am studying but I have trouble answering the questions, my teacher says I am not answering the question. Could someone please give me a rough structure for how to answer both section A and B like what do the examiners look for and how should I set out my essay? Thanks, any help is greatly appreciated.

ReputationRep:
    I got this from an 'advice from the principle examiner' sheet my college had for the context question:
    Intro - Find a central idea of the extract and write a purposeful paragraph establishing form, audience and the writers intentions.

Main body of the essay - Work through the essay chronologically, picking out key ideas, drawing attention to language, structure and form. Refer to wider reading as you go along, not all at the end.

End- Comment on the ending of the extract, this ties the essay up well but also makes a structural point.

Then for the poetry question I found advice on how to structure it from another user on here:

For whatever theme the question wants you to look at, pick 3 poems, 1 that agrees with the question, 1 that's a 'maybe', so it has some aspects which agree with the question and some that don't. Then structure your essay like this:

1st paragraph: Introduction, give a general sort of answer to the question
    2nd: Analyse the 'yes' poem and explain why is agrees with the question
    3rd: Same for the 'maybe' poem
    4th: Analyse the 'maybe' poem explaining how it disagrees with the question
    5th: Analyse the 'no' poem, comparing it to the other two.
    6th: Conclusion.

I hope this makes sense and helps

ReputationRep: