Turn on thread page Beta

Do university professors and academics have complete freedom of speech? watch

ReputationRep:
    Hypothetically, could a university professor, lecturer or member of faculty openly come out with, what could be perceived as, a controversial viewpoint and not have to worry about repression, job loss, or imprisonment?

For example, say I'm a lecturer one day hoping to become a professor at the university I teach at. And during a public debate being held I openly express anti-Islam, anti-feminist or anti-homosexuality opinions (just random examples), do I have to worry about what that may do for my job prospects? If a bunch of Muslims or feminists were outraged, would that affect my career in any way?

Surely universities should be places where individuals can entertain controversial ideas without fear of repercussions.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by ddhurst)
    Hypothetically, could a university professor, lecturer or member of faculty openly come out with, what could be perceived as, a controversial viewpoint and not have to worry about repression, job loss, or imprisonment?

For example, say I'm a lecturer one day hoping to become a professor at the university I teach at. And during a public debate being held I openly express anti-Islam, anti-feminist or anti-homosexuality opinions (just random examples), do I have to worry about what that may do for my job prospects? If a bunch of Muslims or feminists were outraged, would that affect my career in any way?

Surely universities should be places where individuals can entertain controversial ideas without fear of repercussions.