Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    I've always planned to study Chemistry at university and have recently changed to wanting to study Biochemistry. However in the back of my head, I feel like I actually want to study Medicine. I'm worried that it is too late as I have no relevant work experience or volunteering. I'm in year 12, applying to university in September/October. I am doing Duke of Edinburgh Gold as well as a Nuffield Biochemistry research placement in the summer.
    Is Graduate entry level medicine the only option now? If anyone has any advice, I'd appreciate it.
    Thank you

Sorry about the 'Too late to Medicine' title. I have no idea how to change it.

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by kaclrk)
    I've always planned to study Chemistry at university and have recently changed to wanting to study Biochemistry. However in the back of my head, I feel like I actually want to study Medicine. I'm worried that it is too late as I have no relevant work experience or volunteering. I'm in year 12, applying to university in September/October. I am doing Duke of Edinburgh Gold as well as a Nuffield Biochemistry research placement in the summer.
    Is Graduate entry level medicine the only option now? If anyone has any advice, I'd appreciate it.
    Thank you
    Almost nothing in life is ever too late when you're in year 12 - just a general tip.

You definitely don't need to be considering graduate entry medicine at this stage. It's not too late to sort out a short work experience placement over the summer along with some volunteering, if you start looking into it now. Email consultant's secretaries, get in touch with GP practices, talk to any family contacts you might have etc.

Worst case: if you can't arrange work experience over this summer, do it at some point in 2016 and arrange to take a gap year if necessary. There is absolutely no problem with starting university at 19 instead of 18, believe me, it is not too late.

ReputationRep: