Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi all, I'd just like some advice regarding my plans for the academic year ahead.

I'm currently studying Maths, Physics & Chemistry at AS level. At the start of the year, I was determined to work hard all year round to achieve the best grades possible. However, I failed to commit myself to revision (now feeling very regretful).

I feel that if I was to retake the year, then I would be able to perform better in my exams (now that I've realized that this whole year went to waste).

I guess what I'm asking is, what are the pros and cons of retaking the year (2015)? Was it comfortable learning again with the lower year group? Were you made distant to your other friends because you chose to retake?

If anybody here has retaken, please do share your story - it'll help me to make a more informed decision.

Thank you!

ReputationRep:
    Just a note, A-level structures are changing so if you were to resit them all through to A2, you wont have any exams next year. (You only sit an AS exam if you are dropping it afterwards, this is decided upon January mock results)

I'm currently in my first year at college too so I can't really speak form re-takers point of view, but many of my friends are re-taking so they have been able to make new friends pretty well and are comfortable in class, they also spend half their time hanging out with their old friends too so I guess they're getting on well. I guess it all depends on your willingness to make new friends and how segregated (if thats the right word) the year 12 and 13s are at your college! Good luck

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Rosie213)
    Just a note, A-level structures are changing so if you were to resit them all through to A2, you wont have any exams next year. (You only sit an AS exam if you are dropping it afterwards, this is decided upon January mock results)