silvercloud92
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I consistently perform poorly in OSCEs - I always have a mark that is below the average. I always worry that it will fall dangerously close to a fail mark one day. I'm now in my fourth year and I am aware that the OSCE is much harder this year. I really want to do well but I just don't know what to do to improve. I feel that I do well when I practice with others (on observation, I feel that I am on the same level as my peers) and I also do well when I clerk real patients on the wards. But I still perform worse than my entire cohort.

In the OSCE, I forget important questions during the history taking stations or I can't remember the differentials to ask to right questions to exclude things. I just get this huge thought block all of a sudden in some stations and I panic and sweat all over the place. I wonder if some medical students just don't tend to perform well in OSCEs and I also worry that it's a reflection on how I will practice as a doctor i.e. I will be a below average doctor who might miss something really important.

Can anyone kindly pass along some tips?
*pitseleh*
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago
You're probably forgetting these things because you're nervous, rather than because of anything else. I think the only thing to do is practice history-taking (as it sounds like that's where you struggle) to death. You can even do it by yourself to a degree - make checklists of things you would want to ask if a patient came in complaining of X, and then keep testing yourself until you can recite them in your sleep. Obviously that's only part of the station, but perhaps if you can get that part down then the other aspects will seem easier?