The Student Room Group

Help

Hello,

I have applied for Student Finance and have been approved for both components of tuition fees and maintenance partially. However, I just need some clarification please.

I'm 20, I have been working for just over 2 years and I live at home with both parents who support me as in letting me live there and food and stuff, however, they would not be in a position to fund a degree for me due to income.

Now, when I applied for Student Finance I was not asked for my income details but my parents were.

Once I start university, I will no longer be in employment or living at home and I explained this to the Student Finance helpline advisor due to previous worries over this. I was told that wasn't a problem and it was correct that only my parents income would be taken into account and mine would not be.

However, I'm now worried as I have seen someone else posting for advice who's in a similar position and I noticed that Mark Lee advised the student's parent that their child could apply independently and provide P60s.

I'm now worried that I have messed the whole of my application up.

I completed my application a few months back so cannot remember the independent part and with ringing Student Finance regarding the matter I just went ahead until I've just seen someones recent post which has got me worried.

If someone could provide further information please id be very grateful.

studentb
(edited 8 years ago)
Hello studentb,

We can only assess based on the student's income if they have been working for three years & can send in proof of this.

As you have only been working for two years then we need to assess your application based on your parents income, you have completed the application correctly.

Thanks
Reply 2
Original post by Mark Lee - SFE Official Adviser
Hello studentb,

We can only assess based on the student's income if they have been working for three years & can send in proof of this.