Turn on thread page Beta

The immorality of anarchism - private police forces watch

ReputationRep:
    Anarchists and libertarians often say that under their preferred social system, we could have private police forces, and that we need not have any laws / court systems / constabulary etc

Okay, let's say England has adopted anarchism, abolished the courts and police. Say you are a wealthy billionaire living in an isolated castle with your own private army of mercenaries to protect you. You molested and then murdered my sister/brother (delete as appropriate).

I am but a poor farmer, and when I tell my police force that I am subscribed to, they say that my plan doesn't cover travelling to and investigating crimes in far away areas (where my sister/brother had travelled to work). I do manage to convince the company detectives to travel to your castle, where you basically tell them to go away if they value their lives.

What can be done? You are wealthy and powerful. I'm a poor farmer; I can't afford a private army of my own to force their way into your castle to collect evidence (in which case you might argue, by what right they attempt to enter your property). You won and injustice prevails

Furthermore, even if they found the evidence, by what right does a private policy force punish/incarcerate someone?

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by MatthewParis)
    Anarchists and libertarians often say that under their preferred social system, we could have private police forces, and that we need not have any laws / court systems / constabulary etc

Okay, let's say England has adopted anarchism, abolished the courts and police. Say you are a wealthy billionaire living in an isolated castle with your own private army of mercenaries to protect you. You molested and then murdered my sister/brother (delete as appropriate).