Rob_19
Badges: 8
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi everyone I have done a BSc Psychology undergraduate course and I have just finished my last year. I started to think about of any possible careers and I have always had a passion for medicine. The Graduate Entry in Medicine seems promising but there are a couple of factors to consider as well. I enjoy working along side people, and that's one of the reasons why I studied psychology apart from other things. I enjoy having to watch all the steps and progress of clients and see the help you give each step. But I don't like the full close relationship with the client and that's why I started to think of combining psychology with medicine and trying to find a career that does not require full close relationship with the client and just a few minutes contact with the client where you cannot see the progress of your help.Sorry, it may sound confusing!! I am really struggling to find a career that is in between and is both psychological and medical . I was interested in psychiatry but it takes a lot of years to become one and clinical psychology was not recommended due to the high number of people applying to it.
So... if anyone can help, it would be absolutely useful!!

Thanks a lot
Sinatrafan
Badges: 16
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
It's an interesting career quality that you're looking for, most people within medicine are frustrated by the lack of time they get with their patients and the lack of care continuity; it's normally top of most people's grievances within the profession.

All medical specialties take an equally long time to train in (10-15 years). You disregarded psychiatry in your post on that basis, so I'm assuming by medical career you may in fact mean healthcare career?

I think you're very wise to be giving clinical psychology a wide berth. I have many friends who have still been unable to get on a clinical psychology training program 8 years on from our graduation.