mazzaion
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi

So I'm a French student looking to apply for university in England starting in 2016. Until recently I was convinced I would apply for English Literature but I recently stumbled upon Oxford's (yes I know, I'm taking my chance at Oxbridge) English and Classics course...

Now, I've never studied nor Greek or Latin before but they have (and I think other universities such as Durham do two) a "Course II" where you get one year of intensive language classes.
I've always loved Greek and Latin history and think they're a fantastic tool to understand some aspects of other works, since they are a very solid base for literature and most languages we speak in general.
However, I'm scared that by taking a joint course I might miss out on some great aspects and modules of English single honours course...

So here are my questions for you, experienced people in the field of Classics/English Lit/Joint Schools:

-If you have any experience of similar courses, do you think it's interesting to have both subjects combined?

-How do you cope with a joint degree? How does the workload compare to a single honours course?

-How do I make my personal statement valid for both joint courses at some universities and just English at others?

-How do I make the right choice????

-Do you have any reading advice for Classics?

Thank you very much

ps: it's my first time posting on here, let's see how it goes ^.^
UniofReading
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by mazzaion)
Hi

So I'm a French student looking to apply for university in England starting in 2016. Until recently I was convinced I would apply for English Literature but I recently stumbled upon Oxford's (yes I know, I'm taking my chance at Oxbridge) English and Classics course...