Leaving Big 4/Transferring between service lines after 1 year in Audit

Watch
TGO08
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
Hi there,

I am currently in my first year as a graduate associate at a Big 4 firm. Unfortunately, as it stands I really do not enjoy what I do. I pretty much jumped in head first doing something that I didn't fully understand and now I feel like I am paying the price for it.

I currently work in Audit in London in FS and pretty much everything about the job I dislike. Whilst I am used to working long hours, this had become somewhat of a burden with the last 5 months having been solid 9-9/10pm's every day besides weekends, with the travel in between. However I wasn't prepared for and I don't enjoy the surprise in terms of clients. At the moment I have been quite 'fortunate' in terms of not having to travel too far, but I don't want to have to travel all over the country. Right now, I feel that is not for me as the place I am in my life dictates that I would like some sort of stability. In addition to this I have had to revise for exams and try to maintain a personal and private life which has been tough.

My situation is slightly more different I guess in so far as soon I will find out the results of my exam retakes, which if I fail, I will potentially be released from the firm. Does anyone have an experience or does anyone know of anyone who either stayed at the Big 4 having failed exams, or left to do something else with the experience of a year of Big 4 on their CV's?

I took on the role having very limited accounting knowledge. I studied something completely different at university and in my heart of hearts I know that I'm not an accountant or an auditor. However I would still love to stay with the Big 4 firm that I work for in some sort of capacity. My strengths very much lie not with numbers but with words and research and reports and I feel that more of an Advisory role would suit me.