The Student Room Group

Will 4 A levels give me any advantage?

I'm currently studying Maths, FM, Physics, History and French at AS. In terms of which to drop I'm ensure whether dropping both History and French would make me a less competitive applicant to Oxford (to study physics). Dropping both of these would leave with me the only subjects I really need for the course, though after attending a Oxbridge conferences etc. it seems they want to see your ability to handle the workload. Though arguably if I kept one of the subjects as a fourth A level, it wouldn't be in a related subject.

Will having just Maths, FM and Physics be enough? Would it be in anyway advantageous continuing History/French?

Also, I know some Universities don't regard Maths/FM as two distinctly separate A levels, so that could be another issue?
In my opinion, dropping both history and french would put you at a disadvantage, as most applicants will have 4 or 5 a-levels with excellent grades, and yes, they want to make sure that you can keep up with the work, that is probably their only interest in extra-curriculars.
Rather than doing fo4r will give you an advatage is that Not doing four will put you at a disadvantage.
But if you dont think you can do all the a levels and achieve straight As and A*s I would recommend you drop one, Im an international and i m going to do Math, FM, physics, chemistry, french, Spanish and as in spanish lit and critical thinking ...(SPANISH BEING MY FIRST LANGUAGE)(I dont know if im going to be able to do all :s)
and im going for physics too! :biggrin:
(edited 8 years ago)
Original post by imsomeone
In my opinion, dropping both history and french would put you at a disadvantage, as most applicants will have 4 or 5 a-levels with excellent grades, and yes, they want to make sure that you can keep up with the work, that is probably their only interest in extra-curriculars.