Someone tell me how this is stalemate?! Watch

BurstingBubbles
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
#1
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
#1
So shadowdweller and I were having a lovely game of chess (i.e I was winning, as per) and the situation was as follows:

Name:  Untitled.png
Views: 263
Size:  16.9 KB

I moved one piece and suddenly it was stalemate? I'm fairly okay at chess but I don't understand this :lol:

Someone more awake and brainy care to explain?
0
reply
shadowdweller
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
#2
Report 4 years ago
#2
(Original post by BurstingBubbles)
So shadowdweller and I were having a lovely game of chess (i.e I was winning, as per) and the situation was as follows:

Name:  Untitled.png
Views: 263
Size:  16.9 KB

I moved one piece and suddenly it was stalemate? I'm fairly okay at chess but I don't understand this :lol:

Someone more awake and brainy care to explain?
Clearly I'm just awesome at defence

Also, because chess rules which I've now explained :mmm:
0
reply
BurstingBubbles
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
#3
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
#3
(Original post by shadowdweller)
Clearly I'm just awesome at defence
Nope nope nope, the rules of chess are wrong. In a real battle, you'd me exterminated :mmm:
0
reply
yelllowribbon
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
#4
Report 4 years ago
#4
(Original post by shadowdweller)
Clearly I'm just awesome at defence

Also, because chess rules which I've now explained :mmm:
Wait, so why does this not count as you losing?
0
reply
shadowdweller
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
#5
Report 4 years ago
#5
(Original post by BurstingBubbles)
Nope nope nope, the rules of chess are wrong. In a real battle, you'd me exterminated :mmm:
So in this situation you're a Dalek? I found a photo of you then :mmm:

Spoiler:
Show
0
reply
shadowdweller
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
#6
Report 4 years ago
#6
(Original post by yelllowribbon)
Wait, so why does this not count as you losing?
Basically my piece wasn't in check where it was currently, but if I moved anywhere, I'd be in check. So it's stalemate, because I can't move, but I'm not in check
0
reply
Kevin De Bruyne
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
#7
Report 4 years ago
#7
There's nowhere the king can move from it's current position without being in check, so it's their turn but they can't move, so it's a draw.
1
reply
BurstingBubbles
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
#8
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
#8
(Original post by shadowdweller)
Basically my piece wasn't in check where it was currently, but if I moved anywhere, I'd be in check. So it's stalemate, because I can't move, but I'm not in check

(Original post by SeanFM)
There's nowhere the king can move from it's current position without being in check, so it's their turn but they can't move, so it's a draw.
I think we need to rewrite the rules of chess. I essentially snookered her, so I think that deserves a win
0
reply
ChickenMadness
Badges: 20
Rep:
?
#9
Report 4 years ago
#9
(Original post by shadowdweller)
Basically my piece wasn't in check where it was currently, but if I moved anywhere, I'd be in check. So it's stalemate, because I can't move, but I'm not in check
Lets be srs though you lost.

You just found a loophole in the rules and got lucky lmao.
0
reply
shadowdweller
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
#10
Report 4 years ago
#10
(Original post by BurstingBubbles)
I think we need to rewrite the rules of chess. I essentially snookered her, so I think that deserves a win
No no, that's the wrong game :console:

Now watch me win the next game
0
reply
shadowdweller
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
#11
Report 4 years ago
#11
(Original post by ChickenMadness)
Lets be srs though you lost.

You just found a loophole in the rules and got lucky lmao.
But but, it was totally a draw :puppyeyes:
0
reply
AlphaWolfZ
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
#12
Report 4 years ago
#12
Oh so member do take part in chess matches? How can I join? And we shall see if shadow dweller still thinks "defence" is that "top-notch"
0
reply
shadowdweller
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
#13
Report 4 years ago
#13
(Original post by AlphaWolfZ)
Oh so member do take part in chess matches? How can I join? And we shall see if shadow dweller still thinks "defence" is that "top-notch"
Oh, you think you can beat me? :hand:
0
reply
Arkasia
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
#14
Report 4 years ago
#14
(Original post by shadowdweller)
Oh, you think you can beat me? :hand:
Judging from how thoroughly you were smashed in the above picture, I'd back them.
0
reply
shadowdweller
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
#15
Report 4 years ago
#15
(Original post by Arkasia)
Judging from how thoroughly you were smashed in the above picture, I'd back them.
I reckon Boobles was just tryna embarrass me :grumble:
0
reply
skyonline123
Badges: 1
Rep:
?
#16
Report 4 years ago
#16
An important tactic in chess is if a loss is expected the opponent can force a stalemate equating to a draw. The player with the upper hand can't just dominate, but must secure the win by preventing the opponent from doing this, otherwise he doesn't deserve the win :P
0
reply
AlphaWolfZ
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
#17
Report 4 years ago
#17
(Original post by shadowdweller)
Oh, you think you can beat me? :hand:
Yes I think I can, an overconfident people is the one that I love to destroy the most, just the beautiful grimace of shock in the checkmate makes my blood throb!!
0
reply
Arkasia
Badges: 17
Rep:
?
#18
Report 4 years ago
#18
(Original post by shadowdweller)
I reckon Boobles was just tryna embarrass me :grumble:
It worked
0
reply
Smilin’ Knight
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
#19
Report 4 years ago
#19
hate it when that happens to me, im after a win not a stalemate when i play! it should be a win that
0
reply
AlphaWolfZ
Badges: 14
Rep:
?
#20
Report 4 years ago
#20
(Original post by shadowdweller)
Oh, you think you can beat me? :hand:
So when and where do we battle it out shadow? Pick the date for your destruction!
0
reply
X

Quick Reply

Attached files
Write a reply...
Reply
new posts
Back
to top
Latest
My Feed

See more of what you like on
The Student Room

You can personalise what you see on TSR. Tell us a little about yourself to get started.

Personalise

Did you vote in the 2019 general election?

Yes (282)
46.61%
No (69)
11.4%
I'm not old enough (254)
41.98%

Watched Threads

View All