The Student Room Group

Social Anthropology in SOAS or Sussex?

Hi everyone,

I'm a student from India. I've got an offer to undertake a Master's in Social Anthropology at SOAS, Sussex as well as Kent.

I'm slightly confused as to which university is best suited as I'm not aware of the ground realities. I'm thinking in terms of course satisfaction as well as financial security (I don't want to go dead broke).

I'm aware of SOAS's reputation for its niche subjects and given the environment, I think its a great opportunity but truth be told, the university ranking as well as employment opportunities worries me a li'l.

whereas Sussex has offered me a small scholarship and although they're development focused which is not really what interests me, it still is a good school and I'm in two minds.

Any suggestions. I'll be really glad if anyone from these unis can give me some of their experiences.
Thanks!!
have you been to their open days?
Reply 2
Original post by gennie_ama
have you been to their open days?

No, I haven't. That would require me to fly into UK just for those days which would be quite difficult at this point.
Hence i've resorted to possible avenues such as getting info from people who have been to either of the universities
Oh i didnt realize you didnt live in the UK...
If sussex is offering you a scolarship then they may be the place
but soas is also a good place for anthropology
Reply 5
Thanks for your help.
Reply 6
Original post by Nkipgen
Hi everyone,

I'm a student from India. I've got an offer to undertake a Master's in Social Anthropology at SOAS, Sussex as well as Kent.

I'm slightly confused as to which university is best suited as I'm not aware of the ground realities. I'm thinking in terms of course satisfaction as well as financial security (I don't want to go dead broke).