The Student Room Group

Do you think that Monday and Friday's Further Maths papers will be hard

Well I've been practising further maths for about 6 months and I'm just managing to get a B. Can anyone recommend anything to get A*/A grades

Scroll to see replies

Original post by OGGUS
Well I've been practising further maths for about 6 months and I'm just managing to get a B. Can anyone recommend anything to get A*/A grades

Do ALL the past papers and specimen papers- it's really useful because it gives you a feel for the sort of questions they like to ask :smile:
Reply 2
I am doing that but something more
Reply 3
By the way have been taught further maths? or are you self-learning?
Original post by OGGUS
By the way have been taught further maths? or are you self-learning?

I've been taught it, so i'm quite lucky in that aspect. However, my teacher is not fantastic so for harder parts of the course, it was up to me to understand it- either via textbooks or asking other maths teachers, and then doing loads of questions out of my FM textbook. What about you?
Reply 5
I well have to self-teach but I have brothers who can teach me they do mathematics as a degree in University and yes they still live with their parents. So i am okay with most of it
Original post by OGGUS
I well have to self-teach but I have brothers who can teach me they do mathematics as a degree in University and yes they still live with their parents. So i am okay with most of it

You're lucky! My parents stopped being able to help with maths homework this year- they could do the easy gcse stuff, but have forgotten must of the FM stuff they were taught in school over 20 years ago. What do you find tricky about the course?
I find Past Papers by far the best.