The Student Room Group

Routes to becoming a chartered accountant

If you take an apprentice route to become a chartered accountant will it be harder to get a job if others have got a degree?
Will your overall salary be less if you got an apprenticeship/school leavers?
Can someone please tell me the benefits and drawbacks of becoming a chartered accountant through an apprenticeship (after college) rather than going to university? Thanks
Reply 1
I'm a graduate currently training towards becoming a CA with a top 10 firm and we have a number of apprentices with us so I'll try to answer from the best of my experience. In terms of job opportunities after qualifying, degrees become almost completely superseded by being a chartered accountant. By that stage if you have your accountancy qualification that is the main prerequisite for any job and from there the most important factor is your skills and experiences. Put it this way; the job market after graduating university is tough. The job market once you have a CA/ACA and years of experience isn't. You can (within reason) almost pick your job (and on a very good salary) - after university it's likely you'll be happy to take any job you can get (and on a fairly low entry level salary).