Ideas on How to Spend Summer Break in the UK?

Watch
Pizza Muncher
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi.

I'm an international undergrad student here in the UK, and we have our summer break now.

Anyways, I thought that instead of going back home for the summer and doing absolutely nothing but sit at home and watch tv, I would just spend the summer in the UK and do something worthwhile.

Only problem is, I have no idea what to do. My university is in a really remote part of the UK, so in the holidays its pretty dead around here and I would not like to stay over here for the summer. I thought about staying at a backpackers hostel in London and spend the summer over there but I just found out that many of them have a maximum stay of 1 or 2 weeks, and since I have much luggage and a big laptop to carry around, its not going to be practical to keep moving from hostel to hostel and live in such rough conditions for 3 months.

I thought about renting a studio flat in London and finding a part time job to pay off the rent, but the flats in central London are super expensive.

I thought about joining a summer program in the Army, because accommodation, food and everything is paid for, and it sounds like fun. But I can't seem to find any relevant program for the summer.

And I can't seem to find any summer camps in the Uk either that need volunteers.

Anybody have any ideas how I can spend the 3 months over here, while being cost effective and not spending too much cash on accommodation?

Are there any opportunities in the UK similar to summer camp where accommodation is provided in exchange for working hours?

And are there any possiblities at all to do something in the army or RAF, similar to a summer program?
username1799249
Badges: 19
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
How about something like this?
http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/holi...king-holidays/

or this
http://www.wanderlust.co.uk/planatri...he-uk?page=all