Funding for 2nd Degree, confused! Watch

BananaWhale
Badges: 2
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 4 years ago
I'm currently in my second year of a BSc (Adult) Nursing degree and I'm really considering changing degrees to do something else, the course is not stimulating my interest at all (although I really enjoy placements, the theory is not interesting and as such I find it difficult to motivate myself to work as hard as i could).
I previously studied A level science subjects and I used to really enjoy learning because I was interested, now It feels like a chore.

I have a huge interest in biology and physiology, and I have also done a lot of work with St John Ambulance and I'm a first responder for the ambulance service. I'm considering switching to a degree in some area of bioscience, or to paramedic practice.

At the moment I'm gravitating more toward the area of paramedic practice as I know I really enjoy patient care, and looking at the modules of the courses they all seem interesting with a bigger focus on physiology and pathophysiology than in my nursing degree.

I can't really get my head around how I would fund this. Ideally I'd like to finish my current BSc and then apply for a Paramedic Practice course. But i'm not sure if once I had a BSc Nursing I would be elligible for a tuition fee or maintenece loan from student finance?

My current degree is funded by the NHS and I have a maintenence loan for my living costs. This means I have never had a tuition fee loan from student finance, does that mean I can still apply for a tuition fee loan but not a maintenence loan?

If not, would I have to leave at the end of my second year (waste the last 2 years) before I qualify, so that I am still elligible for funding of the next degree?

I hope this makes sense, thank you for your help!
claireestelle
Badges: 22
Rep:
?
Report 4 years ago