Azule
Badges: 4
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 5 years ago
hi Tsr

Im currently a F1 doctor however recently I've been rethinking my future in medicine. unfortunately being a doc has not been all i expected it to be. The hours are long and the work is taxing and it makes you wonder if you really did make the right choice. When you look at dentistry however, you see normal 9-5 work hours and some great rates of pay. Ive always wanted a community job so i would most likely train as a GP however looking at the news and speaking to some SHOs, the future in GP looks bleak with huge increase in targets and pay cuts across the board. Ive looked into other specialities but i really want a community role where i can also have a family in the future and not remain married to the hospital

Therefore the question I'm asking is whether its worth retraining in dentistry instead? Provided i get into the grad course it would take 4 years, around the same amount of time it would take me to train as a GP. Tuition fees would be around 3000 if i get on the grad course so do u guys think its worth it?
muchomungo
Badges: 5
Rep:
?
Report 5 years ago
(Original post by Azule)
hi Tsr

Im currently a F1 doctor however recently I've been rethinking my future in medicine. unfortunately being a doc has not been all i expected it to be. The hours are long and the work is taxing and it makes you wonder if you really did make the right choice. When you look at dentistry however, you see normal 9-5 work hours and some great rates of pay. Ive always wanted a community job so i would most likely train as a GP however looking at the news and speaking to some SHOs, the future in GP looks bleak with huge increase in targets and pay cuts across the board. Ive looked into other specialities but i really want a community role where i can also have a family in the future and not remain married to the hospital