Need help with Subject choices for sixthform?

Watch
zh.
Badges: 0
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I have recently finished year 11 and I am planning to go to William Morris Sixth form . Course guidance was yesterday - What do you think of these AS and A-level subject choices ? AQA Sociology ( i studied this for GCSE too) , OCR English Literature , AQA Business Studies (also studied this in GCSE) and Media Studies . Can anyone give me any advice and tell me how i can be more prepared for these subjects beforehand or what is a bad choice.
ivybridge
Badges: 6
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by zh.)
I have recently finished year 11 and I am planning to go to William Morris Sixth form . Course guidance was yesterday - What do you think of these AS and A-level subject choices ? AQA Sociology ( i studied this for GCSE too) , OCR English Literature , AQA Business Studies (also studied this in GCSE) and Media Studies . Can anyone give me any advice and tell me how i can be more prepared for these subjects beforehand or what is a bad choice.
What are your future plans? Like, university-wise.
mjrd
Badges: 12
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by zh.)
What are you thinking of doing in uni and as a career? Eng is a facilitating subject but the rest are not, business and media are seen as very soft subjects.
ifyouseelaura
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
If I were you I'd swap at least one of business / media for another more traditional subject like english. If you want to go to university, having two or more traditional, academic a levels will make your application much stronger. What about something like history or geography, a language or maths? All of these would leave many more doors open.
returnmigrant
Badges: 21
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
Lots of sensible TSR advice about choosing A level subjects here : http://www.thestudentroom.co.uk/wiki...-form_subjects
zh.
Rep:
?
(Original post by mjrd)