The Student Room Group

Help! Major zoning out problem. Is this common?

Hi, I'm a uni student studying animation.

I have noticed that when I do anything such as read a set of instructions, or long text or sometimes even listen to someone explaining something, I immediately zone out. The zoning out is instantaneous.

No matter how much I try to focus, I literally zone out after the first 3 words of reading anything. There have been times where I have started at text for half an hour and not even had an idea about what it is. ( And I dunno maybe this is my imagination but this problems seems to be worse when I'm reading text on a computer screen than on paper)

Does anyone else have this issue?

It has made high school, especially subjects like physics, economics and math, absolutely horrible! I actually have a great interest in physics and economics but I cannot for the life of me focus on anything.

However when I do activities like Animation (which do require a lot of thinking, planning and focus) I tend to have no problems at all.

I guess its because its more practical. But I'm seriously concerned about this zoning out issue I have.

What could be the problem? Do I have ADHD or something? I have never gone for a diagnosis.

:ahhhhh:
I am in no way stupid. People tell me I'm pretty smart.
Reply 1
You should definitely get checked. Lack of concentration is indeed a symptom of ADHD
I'm not really sure. I had a zoning out problem but I was just a mess in general and had some stuff going in inside of my head. Right now I've improved and I can focus more, though I still zone out when I'm bored.

Your problem does seem pretty serious, get it checked out.
I also get this to some extent (nowhere near as bad as yours though). I'll be reading a text book for about 10 mins and think back to what I've actually read and I honestly won't be able to remember a thing!
Original post by Bloxorus