The Student Room Group

classics at university

Hi,

I love the idea of doing classics at Cambridge. I study French, Spanish, History and politics and I think that the four year classics course would be amazing.

Can anyone suggest some reading around classics that would help to give an introduction as unfortunately my school offers no Latin/Greek or classics.

Many thanks.
Where to begin there are so many!

Firstly, if you're interested in getting a good foundation in Greek and/or Latin I would suggest the following books:

Greek to GCSE by John Taylor
So you really want to learn Latin by Nicholas Oulten (this book also gives a great overview of Roman history)

I definitely found these useful especially since I self taught Greek to GCSE. Then for literature I would suggest reading in translation the classics: The Aeneid, The Odyssey, The Illiad, Ovid's Metamorphoses, some Cicero speeches...

If your interests are mainly historical then Herodotus and Thucydides are a good place to start for Greek and Livy and Tacitus for Latin. There are also some really good Greek plays: Euripides Medea and Aristophanes Clouds are my favourites. I believe you can see these plays being performed in some theatres- definitely worth going if you can.

For philosophy, Plato and Aristotle write in very manageable Greek so when you feel confident enough they are a good place to begin reading in the original!

Finally, I found the book 'a Classical Education' very useful in providing a great and easy to follow introduction to the classical world, and it covers everything from philosophy to history to literature to sports!

Hope this helps and happy reading!:smile:

Posted from TSR Mobile
Original post by omnianulla
Hi,

I love the idea of doing classics at Cambridge. I study French, Spanish, History and politics and I think that the four year classics course would be amazing.