Begging for a gap year at Cambridge

Watch this thread
lilze
Badges: 0
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
Hi,

I'm studying History and got an A*A*AA offer via the pool from Magdalene College. I think (touch wood!) I either met or exceeded this offer in my A level exams this summer. My only problem is that, if I meet my offer, I'm pretty desperate to have a gap year instead of going straight to Cambridge in October. (My school annoyingly discouraged me from applying deferred originally).

I've heard Cambridge can be accommodating about these things, and, provided I meet the offer, I was planning on phoning them up on results day and begging for a gap year. I could present some well organised travel plans with a academic/historical twist. I'm aware that my chances of success are probably reduced by the fact that I only got in via the pool and I'm probably seen as a less 'valuable' candidate to them.

Does anyone know if this will work/know anyone who has successfully deferred their place at this late stage? If so is there some other way I could get Magdalene to give me a gap year? Or should I just give up on this dream altogether?

Thanks and any input/advice would be appreciated
Helenia
Badges: 20
Rep:
? You'll earn badges for being active around the site. Rep gems come when your posts are rated by other community members.
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by lilze)
Hi,

I'm studying History and got an A*A*AA offer via the pool from Magdalene College. I think (touch wood!) I either met or exceeded this offer in my A level exams this summer. My only problem is that, if I meet my offer, I'm pretty desperate to have a gap year instead of going straight to Cambridge in October. (My school annoyingly discouraged me from applying deferred originally).