The Student Room Group

Am I fit enough to run a 5k?

Just wondering what you would consider fit enough to run a 5k because I want to run one in a few weeks, got out of training for a couple of weeks for some reason, ran 3.2k today and got an average pace of 6.54 mins/km but that's factoring in a 5min warm up walk. The race is in 11 days, I managed to run half of the warm up walk and the rest of the 3.2k and did the whole thing in 22 mins. I'm pretty small so my pace isn't that big but do you think I'll be okay to run it in 11 days?
I've never done a race before so I'm just starting out :smile:
Reply 1
Original post by liquity
Just wondering what you would consider fit enough to run a 5k because I want to run one in a few weeks, got out of training for a couple of weeks for some reason, ran 3.2k today and got an average pace of 6.54 mins/km but that's factoring in a 5min warm up walk. The race is in 11 days, I managed to run half of the warm up walk and the rest of the 3.2k and did the whole thing in 22 mins. I'm pretty small so my pace isn't that big but do you think I'll be okay to run it in 11 days?

Anyone can run a 5k.. just depends how fast you wanna go.
My grandfather goes on 10ks and he's 80 so... yes
Reply 3
Original post by Reue

I wanna do it kind of fast, definitely under 45 mins :P
Original post by BloodandThunder
My grandfather goes on 10ks and he's 80 so... yes

Wow I feel like I will definitely be okay now
Reply 4
Original post by liquity

That's a pretty light job. If you can continue that for the whole time you'll manage it easily. The big slowdown is if you stop to walk any of it.
Reply 5
Original post by Reue
That's a pretty light job. If you can continue that for the whole time you'll manage it easily. The big slowdown is if you stop to walk any of it.

I suppose the big thing for me would be to run the whole thing without walking
Reply 6