CharlieK94
Badges: 7
Rep:
?
Report Thread starter 6 years ago
I never considered going to university. Purely because I studied a Level 3 Extended Diploma in Business Studies, rather than A-levels. I always used to think that in order to get accepted at university, you needed A-levels, you needed to be an A* GCSE student and naturally gifted academically. So for those reasons, university was never an option for me.

I was in the second and final year of my BTEC course, where I could not quite believe that I was on track to achieve Distinction* Distinction* Distinction* - which is actually equivalent to three A* A-levels (420 UCAS points). It was only then, that I started to believe I could go to university. So I applied to Anglia Ruskin University through UCAS as a late applicant to study Business Management.

Soon after, my place at Anglia Ruskin University was officially confirmed and it was the start of my three year journey. Since that day, I have not looked back and keep over achieving. I am on track to achieve a first, and I thought I would never, ever be able to say this after studying BTEC. It just goes to show, that there’s more than one route to university; if you study a BTEC course, don’t let that hold you back. You will be surprised by the correlation between BTEC coursework and university essays and all the course work on a BTEC really prepares you for study at University.
08.f.poswal
Badges: 10
Rep:
?
Report 6 years ago
(Original post by CharlieK94)
I never considered going to university. Purely because I studied a Level 3 Extended Diploma in Business Studies, rather than A-levels. I always used to think that in order to get accepted at university, you needed A-levels, you needed to be an A* GCSE student and naturally gifted academically. So for those reasons, university was never an option for me.