The Student Room Logo
This thread is closed

Canadian Student - Need Information (Oxbridge)

Hi,

I am a Canadian student seeking a transfer to Oxbridge in the following year. Can anyone outline the nescessary requirements and what is acceptable for admissions? I sought information on their website but no detailed information on requirements.

Cheers

Scroll to see replies

You can't transfer into the middle of an Oxbridge degree. You need to start it from scratch. I take it you're undergraduate? Can you tell us what qualifications you have at the moment and we can tell you what they'll assess you on.
Reply 2
not,

I have a 4.0 gpa. Lacking in the community service department, which I intend on focusing on extensively throughout this year. A holder of a pilot liscense and fly on my spare time. Various clubs in highschool and was a honours student in the 97th percentile. Currently, I took the year off, so I will be attending the University of Toronto or McGill in the fall of 2007. I thought I might just do the full year then seek a transfer to Oxbridge or one of our neighbours Ivy League institutions. What is your take?
Reply 3
I understand nothing of the English school system. What are the required tests to get in; the nescessary and elective subjects? Thanks in advance...

Cheers,

Politico
Well to be honest I have no idea of the Candadian system put I can give a few pointers

Oxbridge admit students mainly on the basis of an academic interview, which will probably be held in Toronto, New York or Oxford/Cambridge. The questions will be designed to test your ability to think well.
At Oxbridge you apply for a particular subject and study it for 3 years typically, and it is around this subject you'll be interviewed.

Grade wise, those coming from the US are typically admitted on the basis of APs, but most people have the grades to get in, it's the interview which really filters people. Do Canadians also have APs?