The Student Room Group

How to become an accountant?

I graduated last summer from university with a 2:1 classification in Business management. Have since been working as an apprentice accountant at a local firm, and have started doing an AAT course. Is it possible to skip the AAT and go straight to the ACCA? Or if I did a masters in accounting would that save me a few years in college? I feel as if My degree has counted for nothing and that I am starting from scratch. Any advice / information would be massively appreciated.
Original post by Rhiannon_owem
I graduated last summer from university with a 2:1 classification in Business management. Have since been working as an apprentice accountant at a local firm, and have started doing an AAT course. Is it possible to skip the AAT and go straight to the ACCA? Or if I did a masters in accounting would that save me a few years in college? I feel as if My degree has counted for nothing and that I am starting from scratch. Any advice / information would be massively appreciated.

As far as I'm aware you don't need AAT qualifications to do the ACCA, I think their entry requirement is simply 2 A levels or their own foundation courses if you don't have A levels, so you should be able to jump straight into it. As for your degree you can't do worse for having it, you have a broader wealth of knowledge and it still leaves doors open for future career choices.
What were your A-levels? If you achieved at least BBC (280 UCAS Points), you should not be doing AAT - you should be doing ACA/ACCA for someone with the pedigree of also having 2.1 with honours.
Hi Rhiannon,

It is possible to get qualified on the ACA after AAT as it works as a fast track into the ACA. Have you looked at graduate jobs in accountancy as they will put you through a professional qualification and usually let you choose which one you want to do.

Hope this helps a bit!
Original post by DueHurricane