The Student Room Group

Getting into management consultancy with a 2.2, PhD or industry experience route?

--
(edited 8 years ago)
Original post by arrac
Hi

I'd really appreciate some advice on this. I graduated with a 2.2 in an engineering degree, due to some extenuating circumstances, from a top 15 UK uni. I managed to get into an MSc course in the same field at a top 10 uni and did very well graduating with a distinction (First class in undergraduate terms).

I'm interested in getting into management consultancy and using my technical knowledge. However I know that I don't stand a chance of getting in straight away given my undergraduate performance and that I have to find an alternative route. Currently I have an offer to do a PhD in a topic related to the pharmaceutical field at Imperial college and a job offer from a leading integrated oil and gas company. I'm unsure which route will give me a better chance of getting into management consultancy after a couple of years. The prestige of graduating from Imperial is surely a bonus and would negate the significance of my 2.2 as it would show I'm clever and hard working enough to have accomplished this. Having industry and work experience with a large oil company would also be great. I would really love to hear some peoples views on this and what would be better to help me get where I want to go.

When you mean management consulting what specific area , do you mean?? strategy consulting??
Reply 2
Seems like a lot of work to do that much schooling for a job you can get out of undergrad. Doesn't even guarantee you'll get the job especially since I assume you don't have previous experience.
Original post by arrac
Yes, firms like McKinsey, Accenture, Boston Consulting etc.