Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi, I'm a bit confused, in the picture of the attachment below, apparently the Stage 1 is prophase not interphase? Is this bcos the chromosomes have become visible? And what are all the other stages? Is stage 2 prophase as well, in the condensation part? And stage 3 metaphase or anaphase? And how do you know? I can't see what they're doing so if anyone has any ideas?! Stage 4 should definitely be anaphase I think? Thanks
    Attached Images

ReputationRep:
    These might not all be correct, but I'd guess at:

Stage 1 - early prophase
    Stage 2 - late prophase
    Stage 3 - late metaphase
    Stage 4 - anaphase

I'm not very good with digrams of chromosomes

ReputationRep:
    (Original post by Sugaray)
    Hi, I'm a bit confused, in the picture of the attachment below, apparently the Stage 1 is prophase not interphase? Is this bcos the chromosomes have become visible? And what are all the other stages? Is stage 2 prophase as well, in the condensation part? And stage 3 metaphase or anaphase? And how do you know? I can't see what they're doing so if anyone has any ideas?! Stage 4 should definitely be anaphase I think? Thanks
    i think stage 1 would be prophase since it is shortened and darkened
    interphase does not show the chromosomes since it isnt coiled around the histone yet but just undergoes DNA replication for the time being

as for stage 2....i think it looks like metaphase of mitosis

i hope im right though..hehe
    though it looks a bit misleading..

ReputationRep:
    that is one dodgy picture! I've never seena mitosis in real life that looks like any of them! But I would agree with LS on the phases.

1- early prophase

2- late prophase - the chromosomes are making their way to the metaphase plate

3- mid-late metaphase - looks like you've already had the formation of the metaphase plate and the sister chromsomes are being 'pulled' to the poles

4- Anaphase - chrs are being pulled to the spindle poles.