The Student Room Group

History—research proposal only.

So my background is literature and whilst I can swing how interdisciplinary that can be, it's not going to make a ruby a sapphire. I'll be applying to history PG taught master's for 2016 intake at a few institutions that have really relevant courses. I'll have a masters in modern literature already. I'm going to apply very soon. I've come across Cambridge's MPhil in History and this looks amazing.

Every other institution is happy with a 1-2 page personal statement which obviously touches all bases. I've got a moderate-lengthy paragraph on what independent research I plan to pursue for all of them. Cambridge do not want a personal statement it seems, they want a lengthy research proposal only. I have checked with the department itself and this is definitely a taught programme. Whilst I'm kind of perplexed about why I need to write 500+ words for a thesis I am around 18 months away from starting (I'm not applying early, funding deadlines are Octoberish so might as well be optimistic), I actually have no idea how to flesh out this to that level of detail.

I've never done this before, at all stages of study I only needed to give a sort or rough 100 words on what I'll be doing and then when it comes to it and I start chiseling away I have more of an idea the exact nature of it. I feel like I'm going to totally mess this up and Cambridge is obviously not the one you want to have a hack job of because it'll be extremely tough getting in any way.

Ugh. I don't know, I guess I'm looking for advice.
Reply 1
Ok so, this is not from a history background but another department at Cambridge but I thought it might give some perspective.