The Student Room Group

Going to uni years after screwing up college

Hey folks. I'm in a weird predicament.

In 2011 i was studying a NatDip in Animation at college and on track to get a high merit or distinction and head off to my uni of choice and all was great, then some really screwed up family stuff happened and with just a month left of my national diploma i had to drop out and forfeit my qualification, 2 years or work and a lot of my dreams. Cut to 4 years, a relocation to a new city, a change of name and a few years of very dark mental health stuff and i've just finished a year of holding down steady employment and stuff is feeling normal again. Woo. So i thought it was about time i look at completing my degree goals (Interactive Media) again.

I have a first diploma (albeit under a different name), and 99% of the knowledge you get from a national diploma but nothing official. I was pretty much done with all my ucas stuff when i dropped out but given my memories of their efficency i get the impression getting any info from them would be painful.

So my question is, is there any way i can salvage this and get to uni in 2016 ideally without having to resit a 2 year (and expensive now im 23) national diploma??

thanks in advance and apologies for the longish post.

Cheers
Samuel
Reply 1
Original post by samelma

In 2011 i was studying a NatDip in Animation at college and on track to get a high merit or distinction and head off to my uni of choice and all was great, then some really screwed up family stuff happened and with just a month left of my national diploma i had to drop out and forfeit my qualification, 2 years or work and a lot of my dreams. Cut to 4 years, a relocation to a new city, a change of name and a few years of very dark mental health stuff and i've just finished a year of holding down steady employment and stuff is feeling normal again. Woo. So i thought it was about time i look at completing my degree goals (Interactive Media) again.