The Student Room Group

Nursing Degree, Children and Child Care advice pleaseeeee

Hello every one. I am 27 years old and I work part time as a Care Worker and I'm a single mum to two beautiful children. My son is 7 and in full time school and my daughter will be 4 in October this year.

I have just been accepted for the Access to Nursing course which is a year long, I'm hoping to get help with child care so this year isn't bothering me so much. When next year comes and I'll hopefully be starting a Nursing Degree at University my daughter will be starting full time school so that's handy.

I've read so many negative things from people doing Nursing Degree's with children and it's made me feel quite worried now, I am still going to go ahead with my access course and Nursing Degree but I feel a bit negative. I was wondering if any one has been in the same position as me and how they cope/d with Uni, placements and children, I know it's going to be hard and I'm not going to be able to be the mum I am now but I just have to look at the bigger picture because I'm doing this for my children so they can have a good future.

What are the placements like and what did everyone do for child care when they was doing long hours in their placements?

Thank you all in advance
Reply 1
Hi
I have just been accepted on to the access to nursing course myself. My son is going to be 2 in November and after reading your thread have got scared myself lol. Following your thread now waiting for some hopefully positive advice.....

I have always wanted to be a nurse and like you I am doing it for my son as well as me so I see that as an extra incentive to follow through with the course... Plus I do have a very supportive family. But then this is before the actual course starts so maybe they will get bored of the babysitting..... eeks!
Reply 2
Original post by amyds2104
Hi