The Student Room Group

Do first year results matter?

Hi,
I am currently studying at one of the best universities in the UK. I have to admit I screwed up my first year and ended up getting a mid 2:2. I accept that it was entirely my fault and I didn't revise enough. I am definitely capable of more. I hope to get a high 2:1 or a first in my second year as I am definitely capable and will work extra hard! I was just wondering if first year results matter when applying for postgraduate study, specifically to either top-tier UK universities or American universities?
I think that in 99% of cases they wouldn't matter at all and in the 1% of cases where they might matter, they wouldn't matter very much.
Original post by dishonouronurcow
Hi,
I am currently studying at one of the best universities in the UK. I have to admit I screwed up my first year and ended up getting a mid 2:2. I accept that it was entirely my fault and I didn't revise enough. I am definitely capable of more. I hope to get a high 2:1 or a first in my second year as I am definitely capable and will work extra hard! I was just wondering if first year results matter when applying for postgraduate study, specifically to either top-tier UK universities or American universities?

Original post by nonswimmer
I think that in 99% of cases they wouldn't matter at all and in the 1% of cases where they might matter, they wouldn't matter very much.