The Student Room Group

A level Sociology

This is my first time taking this subject, how can I prepare for A level? And is this subject difficult?
Original post by zoemary
This is my first time taking this subject, how can I prepare for A level? And is this subject difficult?

It's been a year since I did A level sociology (AQA). I had never done the subject before going into college. I didn't do anything before I started - just used the teaching given at college to direct my studies. There is a lot of content and essay writing - I actually did all essay based subjects. I was warned at one college open evening (not the college I ended up picking) that sociology and psychology together was a lot of work but I found it ok.

Actually loved sociology and it was my best exam - still miss it though it has proved quite relevant to my degree course (and in fact to a lot of aspects of life in general).

Enjoy :smile:
Reply 2
Original post by AmyPilot
It's been a year since I did A level sociology (AQA). I had never done the subject before going into college. I didn't do anything before I started - just used the teaching given at college to direct my studies. There is a lot of content and essay writing - I actually did all essay based subjects. I was warned at one college open evening (not the college I ended up picking) that sociology and psychology together was a lot of work but I found it ok.

Actually loved sociology and it was my best exam - still miss it though it has proved quite relevant to my degree course (and in fact to a lot of aspects of life in general).

Enjoy :smile:

Thank you, for your help. I am also doing psychology a level, do you think it will be too tough to handle both subjects? Or should i drop one?
Original post by zoemary
Thank you, for your help. I am also doing psychology a level, do you think it will be too tough to handle both subjects? Or should i drop one?

No they go well together.