Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Just had my grades and feeling a bit gutted, so would appreciate some advice.

I got an unexpected C grade in Unit 5 (composition). I got an overall A grade in AS but overall B in A2. Having seen the marks and comments of the examiner (which I find to be quite subjective), I'm really confused about his view of my composition, which was passed as good by my teacher before submission. The composition was fully scored with 17 instruments and the brief was music for the opening of a theme park. It was worked on for months in detail with my teacher. I'm also a composition student at a Junior Department of a Music College, and they consider me to have talent - so I'm really confused about this result.

The examiner called the composition "competent" or 21-25 out of 40.

"Generally secure and conscientious in technique and interpretation.
    Some errors and/or misjudgements, but the piece still has some direction and flow."

He didn't state what the errors were and as far as I can see there were none. Whenever he criticised the composition he called it 'lacking a real sense of...' in each section. In fact, he didn't mark the harmony category section at all, which I know is optional, but there is a lot of harmony work in the piece.
    Melody was marked as 'adequate' with 'significant errors' in the part writing. He may not have like it but there were no errors as far as I can see.

Has anyone else experienced this kind of subjective marking before, and is it wise to have it remarked, bearing in mind that marks can go down? I am concerned that if my marks go down my overall A2 grade will be a C, even though I got an A in performance.

Any advice appreciated!
    •  Official Rep

ReputationRep:
     Official Rep
    Sorry you've not had any responses about this. Are you sure you’ve posted in the right place? Posting in the specific Study Help forum should help get responses.