Turn on thread page Beta

ReputationRep:
    Hi Everyone

I am SO confused with what to do next after my BA Hons Early Childhood Studies Degree. I love the Early Years and preferably want to stay in this age range, but would love to go into teaching eventually. I am currently a deputy manager of a pre-school.

Please can someone first explain the difference between PGCE and QTS? Does the PGCE result in QTS? Or are they two completely different routes? I am getting mixed answers from Google!

I have been looking into doing the PGCE Early Years (3-7 Years), and I am really interested in doing this course.

I have also looked into doing EYTS, but I know this limits me to just 0-5, and I have been told that many schools do not recognise EYTS.

I ideally want to teach Reception to start with, but in later years I may want to spread my wings and open my options, and therefore be able to teach all of infant school aged children. So would the PGCE Early Years 3-7 Years be the right route for me?

I'd love to hear your opinions and recommendations.

Thank you in advance

ReputationRep:
    I was in this position! I'd personally recommend going for the pgce as you can still teach in Nurseries with that and schools definitely recognise it! Plus you can teach all the primary year ranges with it not just limited to 3-7. Keeps your options open I guess.
    Hope this helps

Posted from TSR Mobile

ReputationRep:
    I agree, the PGCE Early Years route definitely sounds like your best option. I have EYTS and would love to teach Reception - but schools just won't accept it so I'm about to start my PGCE in Primary Education (5-11).