The Student Room Group

Is it possible to do a PGCE and a Masters Degree at the same time?

The title says it all really!

I am a year away from doing this if it is possible, about to be heading into the 3rd year of Law LLB studies, so hopefully someone will be able to help me out with this situation!

I am hoping to become a Law lecturer, preferably at a university but would take the route to lecturing in a college initially. But being an old fogie at 25 and incredibly impatient, I'm hoping this is a possibility!

Any information on this would be veeerryyyy much appreciated!
Moved to Education and Teaching, where you're more likely to get an answer :smile:

(Altho I think I know that the answer will be no I'm afraid - for one thing, you will either be at university or school for your PGCE so won't be able to attend any law lectures)
I'm a newbie myself (NQT here) but I'm fairly confident the more experienced will back me up. No, you cannot hope to do a Masters and a PGCE at the same time. I doubt any PGCE admissions criteria would allow it. In fact, I believe you would be insane to attempt to do so.

I spent the last academic year embroiled in the organised madness that is a PGCE. Yeah, it has some less pressured points (on my course the first 4 weeks or so were fairly chill) but the majority of the course is spent juggling the demands of placements which are in effect like doing a full-time job (yes you teach a reduced timetable, but you need extra time to plan and mark effectively as you learn this 'on the job') with the more academic demands of essays. You are being observed regularly, you are under pressure, you are impacting the lives of your students for good or ill, your personal/social life may suffer, there is never enough time for everything you need to do.