Turn on thread page Beta

Advice for Teacher in love with Ex Student watch

Hi,

Just before we start, I have to say I will be checking this post infrequently as I am not alone very often. Stupid family!

So straight to the point. I'm a teacher in his late twenties, and I am head over heels with one of my ex students. She has only recently finished and is moving onto University. I have only taught her for this year. As sad and pathetic as it sounds, I developed romantic feelings while I knew her as a student. Though she is now 18, I was in love while she was 17, might not be a difference but technically illegal I suppose?

I've not had a great life so far, and meeting them has literally changed my life. I've accepted all the bad things in my life and come to love them, and I've been able to learn to love myself as well. She's made it all possible. We've hung out a lot during this year. From my eyes, it seemed like she went out her way sometimes so she could spend time with me, though it was never alone. I also went out of my way to see her, and again not alone. We spend a lot of time together I guess.

So here is the current situation. They gave me a letter a while ago with their email to contact them by, and we've been mailing each other frequently. I am unable to gauge how personal these are. Normally we chat about our interests, or funny things, but sometimes she'll share things I wouldn't expect, like a photo of themselves, or telling me personal things.

Besides seeing each other on results day, and spending a bit of time alone together, chatting, I have not had any other contact with them. I want to see them so much, but know it won't happen. I fear it was the last time I'll ever see her, and it really hurts me.

So here's where you come in. I do not know how she feels about me, and I am too scared to ask. I am not entirely sure what I want from them, and definitely too scared to act on anything. I am looking for advice, and opinions on the matter.