Turn on thread page Beta

IIFYM - Help tracking Macros watch

ReputationRep:
    Hey there,

Height: 5'10

I've been training since August 14th 2014 just over a year now and have gained weight from 49kg to 66kg. However, I haven't tracked macros ever since and wanted to start tracking as I want to see better results.

This was my 1st year training but not tracking macros: http://imgur.com/53A6z1Z

I want to bulk from 66kg to 72.5-75kg(160-165lb) but If I bulk slowly and put 2-4lb/month it would take me 5-6 months. Would you say that's a long enough time parameter for bulking or?

What scales do you use to track your meals? If there are times where you can't measure how far off are you from estimating? What carbs/ protein/ fat split are you using?

I'm trying 40 Carbs/ 40 Protein/ 20 Fat split ->

Maintenance at 66kg: 2538 calories/day

Carbs: 254g
    Protein: 254g
    Fat: 56g

However, since I'm bulking: 2738 calories/day

Carbs: 274g
    Protein: 274g
    Fat: 61g

Lastly, do you use myfitnesspal and record your meals or do you prefer to write them down?

ReputationRep:
    You've added 30% to your body weight in a year and by the looks of it you're reasonably lean so well done. It seems like you're making very good progress anyway so is there really a need to track your macros?
    • Political Ambassador

ReputationRep:
    Political Ambassador
    If 2500 is truly your maintenance, then 2700ish will see you gaining about a couple of lbs a month which is very sensible, much more than that and you'll start gaining unnecessary fat and no extra muscle gain. But that 2500 is a an estimate, it'll be trial and error to discover how much you really need to be eating.